posted Aug. 17, 2008
There are many different types of Vegetarian's, hear are some definition's of the more common ones.
Vegetarian - a person who does not eat or does not believe in eating meat, seafood, fowl, or, in some cases, any food derived from animals, as eggs or cheese, but subsists on vegetables, fruits, nuts, grain, etc.
Vegan - excludes animal flesh (meat, fowl, fish and seafood), animal products (eggs and dairy), and usually excludes honey and the wearing and use of animal products (leather, silk, wool, lanolin, gelatin...).
Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian - a vegetarian who refrains from eating meat, fowl, fish and seafood, but still eats eggs and dairy products. This is the most 'popular' form of Vegetarianism in many Western countries.
Lacto Vegetarian - a vegetarian who refrains from eating meat, fowl, fish and seafood. But still consumes dairy products.
Now here are some other definition's that may explain Vegetarian's
Semi-Vegetarian - Eats less meat than average person. See also PSEUDO-VEGETARIAN.
Pseudo-Vegetarian - Claims to be vegetarian, but isn't. Often used by VEGETARIANS to describe SEMI-VEGETARIANS, and PESCETARIANS.
Fruitarian - Same as VEGAN, but only eats foods that don't kill the plant (apples can be picked without killing plant, carrots cannot).
I hope for those off you who did not know this information I hope it gave you a bit of insight.
I will be posting a load of recipies and other vegetarian info soon. Stay Tuned!!!
Signing off for now!!